Kangaroo Footprints
Photo GalleryAbout JoeysSpeciesThreats
LinksKangaroo Book Contact Margaret Warner

The Kangaroo is recognised world wide
as a symbol of Australia

Six macropod species have already become extinct in the past 200 years
and a number of species are listed as endangered or threatened.

Map of Australia with kiangaroos hopping

Macropods are grouped into two

The macropodidae group includes:







The potoroidae
group includes:





Kangaroos belong to the family of animals known as macropods, which means ‘big foot’. The macropod family
contains around fifty species of kangaroos and their relatives ranging from the 90kg Red Kangaroo to the small
Musky Rat-Kangaroo at half a kilo. They are found all over Australia and live in many diverse habitats.

You can learn more about kangaroos and have fun doing lots of puzzles in the book - Kangaroo Footprints.

Copyright (C) 2010 - 2019

All images are copyright and may not be reproduced without permission.